Our Story

The estate of Thomas J. and Gladys Sowash Stoker bequeathed a sizable sum to create an endowment to provide scholarships for Norwin High School Students residing in the Borough of Irwin.  The funds could only be provided to a 501c3 charitable organization, thus the creation of the Norwin School District Community Foundation (NSDCF) in 2007.

Our mission is to engage in programs and activities benefiting primarily students and residents of Norwin School District, Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, developing and increasing community philanthropy, developing and administering scholarship funds for students enrolled and attending Norwin School District and supporting Norwin School District in developing and administering educational programs.

Under the guidance of an all volunteer Board of Directors, the Norwin School District Community Foundation (NSDCF) has grown to manage 21 scholarships, an educator innovation grant program,  two veteran memorials within the Norwin area and support for the District’s STEM/STEAM initiatives through Pennsylvania’s Educational Improvement Tax Credit Program (EITC) and individual donations.

Board of Directors

Dr. John C. Boylan

President Norwin School District Resident

Mr. James Duffy, Esq.

Vice President Norwin Community Business Representative

Ms. Jo Ann Stoecklein

Secretary Norwin Council of PTAs Representative

Ms. Heidi Stratton-Minor

Treasurer Norwin Financial Community Representative

Ms. Cheryl Campbell

At-Large Representative

Mr. William F. Caruthers II, Esq.

Foundation Solicitor Non-Voting Member

Mr. John Duncan

At-Large Representative

Ms. Barb McKee

Norwin School District Resident/Alumnus

Ms. Maria Hanley

Norwin Education Association Representative

Mr. Ryan Kirsch

Norwin School District Director of Business Affairs

Dr. Jeffrey M. Taylor

Norwin School District Superintendent

Ms. Debbie Kunkle

At-Large Representative

Ms. Barbara Viola

Norwin School Board Representative